[SectoidDan] Admin Application

SectoidDan

[SectoidDan] Admin Application

Post by SectoidDan »

BYOND ckey: sectoiddan
Character name: Shah-Gilm
Discord username (+user id): Durandan#6073
How long have you played on Citadel?: Since 2016.
How long have you played SS13?: Since 2010.
What is your timezone/general hours of activity?: AEDT but I'm flexible.
Previous SS13 related admin experience: Admin on /tg/station for about six months circa 2011. Admin again on /tg/station for another three months or so, around 2016. Both times were under another ckey.
Previous non-SS13 related admin experience: N/A
Current administrators who have agreed to support your application: GlitchyCore, AvaricePleonexia, and Izzy (but Izzy was drunk at the time so I dunno)
Reason for application: I have some experience doing ss13 adminning, and I find it enjoyable. It also seems to me there's not enough admins compared to the playercounts the servers can get sometimes. Finally, and more importantly, I like this server and community, and would like to contribute towards making it better.

1. How would you engage with two players having an out of character altercation?
Open with a polite request that they tone it down, drop it, or take it elsewhere. If they continue, adopt a firmer but still polite tone, telling them to take it to DMs instead of asking, for instance. Escalating beyond that, options include bwoinks (which people tend to take more seriously than just talking at them in OOC), temporary OOC mutes, or even kicks if things get out of hand.

2. What should an admin do if they're involved in a situation that needs admin intervention?
Hands off completely. Alert another admin who can act impartially. Admins can and probably should ahelp things too.

3. How should an admin determine in what way to punish someone who breaks the rules?