MoonTruther - Moderator Application

MoonTruther

MoonTruther - Moderator Application

Post by MoonTruther »

BYOND ckey: MoonTruther
Character name: Wyatt Jackson
Discord username (+user id): Moon Truther#7125
Reason for application: I've had some experience on Hippie-Station as a mentor, and i really didn't enjoy that experience for the simple fact that the sever is an overall toxic barrel constantly being stirred by admins and players alike. However the rather (shortish) time I've been on this sever, the staff and player-base alike as shown again and again that this sever is one that keeps their standards high, and i'm hoping that i can keep those standards high, if not raise them up. I'd also love to help people along the way while doing so. My long-term goal is to eventually apply for admin.

1. How would you engage with two players having an out of character altercation?
I would attempt to contact both players privately, via a private message and attempt to evaluate the situation. If one (or both) of the players are upset about something i'll do my best to cool them off, reminding them that they are playing a 2D Space game, and that there is no need to be upset. I'd also attempt, if i deem it necessary, explain to both players the other persons point of view, and how they might view the current situation as upsetting, offensive, or whatever the issue might of been.

2. What should an admin do if they're involved in a situation that needs admin intervention?
An admin should attempt to contact another admin to deal with it, because their own personal bias may effect the outcome of whatever the situation is. If no other admin is available at the time i would suggest saving anything that may be related to the issue, for both parties (if not asking the involved player to also save stuff) and contact another admin whenever one is available, and give them the information you (and possibly the other person) saved.