Mewchild

Mewchild - RP Admin application

Post by Mewchild »

BYOND ckey: Mewchild
Character name: Phi Vietsi, Ciphrom Markov, Christa Martins, Sierra Sagan
Discord username (+user id): Phi-#8640
How long have you played on Citadel?: Off and on for 3 years
How long have you played SS13?: Started in 2015
What is your timezone/general hours of activity?: GMT-6. Normally on anywhere from 4PM-4AM
Previous SS13 related admin experience: Admin on Heaven's Gate Station, Head Admin for Eros Research Platform
Previous non-SS13 related admin experience: 3 year admin for The Grand Archives, a community of 1500+ people who focused on reverse angineering and hacking within the Soulsborne series of game
Current administrators who have agreed to support your application: Enzo, PastelPrinceDan, Jaybird
Reason for application: I've been playing off and on with this community for several years now, and the server has a unique atmosphere that can't be found elsewhere as far as I've seen. The admin team often feels like the cool uncle, in a way, not afraid to just relax and be chill/laugh with the players of the server. I've actually been considering applying for a long while, after I spent a few shifts temp-adminned after we first swapped to the tether (helping resolve variable issues with the smelter, and replying to faxes with supervision), and I greatly enjoyed those few shifts of just doing that.

Please answer the following questions to the best of your abilities:
1. How would you engage with two players having an out of character altercation?
Ping both of them to have them stop publically airing the fight. Speak with both individuals one on one, see if I can discover the root cause of their strife with one another. Recommend either taking some time away to cool their heads, and potentially advise blocking the other person depending on the nature of the altercation.

2. What should an admin do if they're involved in a situation that needs admin intervention?